Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville

Advanced Search
search sponsored by


home : arts, entertainment and events - archive : entertainment May 24, 2016

1/10/2013 11:51:00 AM
Entertainment Calendar for Jan. 10, 2013

Prairie Grapevine Folklore Society - Bryan Bowers
Prairie Grapevine Folklore Society welcomes back Bryan Bowers. His performance will be on Wed., January 16, 2013 at 7:30 p.m. Bryan Bowers has become a major artist on the traditional music circuit. For nearly three decades, Bryan Bowers has been to the autoharp what Earl Scruggs was to the five-string banjo. He presents instrumental virtuosity combined with warmth; eloquence, expression and professionalism. The location of this event is the Abraham Lincoln Unitarian Universalist Church, 745 Woodside Road, Springfield. The donation is $10 for adults, $9 for seniors, $8 for members, $5 for students, or $25 for a family. This program is partially supported by a City Arts grant from the Springfield Area Arts Council. For more information log onto the Prairie Grapevine Folklore Society Website at:

Calico Twirlers Monthly Dance
The Calico Twirlers Square Dance Club will host their monthly dance on Friday, January 18 at the Litchfield Community Center, 1100 S. State St., Litchfield, IL, from 7:30-10:00 p.m. It is jeans night. Don McConnell is the caller, and the public is welcome.

Men Who Cook
Local celebrity chefs will execute their culinary expertise during the fundraising event, Men Who Cook on Saturday, Jan. 26th at the Taylorville Memorial Hospital (TMH) Auditorium. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. for a cash bar, hosted by One East Market, and food samplings will start promptly at 6:00 p.m. Attendees can donate $1 for their favorite dish, which determines winners in each category. Categories for Best of Show, Best Appetizer, Best Main Dish, Best Side Dish and Best Dessert will be awarded to the chefs, based on the amount of votes they receive. Tickets are $25 and are available by contacting Debbie Johnson at 824-1677, or any committee member. Committee members are Rhonda Trost, Kathy Fergin, Kathy Bowman, Molly Alaria, Paula Waterman, Maureen Maple, Debbie Johnson and Pam Whittaker.

Anderson Jewelers

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

If you are looking for the SPEAK OUT submission form, you can find it by clicking here: Speak Out Form

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

NOTE: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address will not be displayed or shared.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved