3/28/2013 10:03:00 AM Teutopolis Monastery Museum
welcomes visitors April 7
TEUTOPOLIS — Visitors can view more than 30 rooms of the Teutopolis Monastery Museum on Sunday, April 7, 2013. The hours are from 12:30 to 4:00 p.m. They recommend you come early to see the many unique and interesting articles on display. Admission for adults is $3.00 and $1.00 for children.
The Museum is located on the second floor in the former Franciscan Novitiate building which is located behind St. Francis Church in Teutopolis.
Besides its collection of articles used by the Franciscan Friars, the Museum is also known for Bibles and books in different languages, some from the 1700's. One section features items used by early Teutopolis pioneers, including farm tools, furniture, clocks, quilts, toys, various household and grocery store items. All these articles are on display in the former "cells" or bedrooms of the Novices.
The tour also includes the Mausoleum and St. Francis Church with stained glass windows which depict highlights in the life of St. Francis of Assisi.
Volunteers are available along the tour to explain displays and assist visitors.
Special group tours for adults or school groups can be arranged on days other than the scheduled Sunday openings. Contact Joyce and Ray Vahling at (217) 857-3586, Teutopolis, IL. Regular, scheduled museum opening dates are the first Sunday of the months April thru November.
For more information go to the parish website: stfrancischurch.com or to the town's website at www.Teutopolis.com and click on "Tourism" or the pair of wooden shoes.