Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville




Advanced Search
search sponsored by


LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE






home : columns : dr. k May 1, 2016

Women still need pap test, just not as often

Saturday, April 30, 2016


Anderson Jewelers

Family history raises alzheimer's risk, but it's still low
Friday, April 29, 2016

Reversal of best practices is not uncommon in medicines
Thursday, April 28, 2016

New research constantly changes how doctors treat disease
Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Ask Dr. K
DEAR DOCTOR K: A friend heard about a study that said a person's immune system changes with the seasons. That seems incredible to me. But if it's true, it's fascinating. Do you know what she is talking about?
Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Get your antioxidants from foods, not pills
Monday, April 25, 2016

Different conditions cause painful urination

DEAR DOCTOR K: I'm a woman in my 50s, and every so often it is painful for several days when I urinate. The doctor tests me, says I don't have a urinary tract infection, and that there's nothing to do. It's true that it goes away, but I'd like some relief when it hurts. Is there anything I can do? 

 

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Studies show moderate drinking confers heart benefits
Friday, April 22, 2016

Mediterranean diet may protect brain as well as heart
Thursday, April 21, 2016

Gel not recommended to treat low-normal testosterone
Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Environment and lifestyle are main causes of cancer
DEAR DOCTOR K: A while back, you commented on a study that said getting cancer was mainly caused by bad luck. You said you thought the study was wrong. Then recently, I heard that another study agreed with you. Can you explain? 
Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Repeated trauma isn't only cause of post-traumatic stress
DEAR DOCTOR K: Last year, a truck ran a red light, totaled my car and nearly totaled me. I spent several weeks in the hospital. Since then my body has healed, but I'm not myself. I'm very irritable, easily angered and sleeping poorly. A friend says I have PTSD, but I thought that occurred to people -- soldiers, for instance -- exposed to repeated threats.
Monday, April 18, 2016

'Detox' diet programs have yet to prove effective
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Fit young adults will build protection against disease
Friday, April 15, 2016

Daily medicine lowers risk of future attacks of gout
Thursday, April 14, 2016

Women with heart conditions should get care while pregnant
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Aggressive immune response to bacteria can lead to sepsis
Tuesday, April 12, 2016

BPH doesn't always require medication
Monday, April 11, 2016

Ask Dr. K by Dr. Anthony Komaroff
DEAR DOCTOR K: My husband and I are in our early 80s. Sometimes in the evening he is agitated, confused, and just quite a handful to deal with. The doctor says he has "sundowning." What is it, and is there anything I can do?
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Several options available for total knee replacement
Friday, April 8, 2016

Underlying medical condition could cause too much sleep
Thursday, April 7, 2016

Simple actions can prevent deep-vein thrombosis
Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Tools can help arthritic hands perform everyday tasks
DEAR DOCTOR K: Age and arthritis have done a number on my hands. I'd like to continue cooking, eating and dressing independently, but it's getting harder. Any advice?
Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Jury still out on epidural injections for sciatica
DEAR DOCTOR K: I suffer from sciatica, which has caused a lot of pain over the past six month. My doctor has recommended epidural injections, but I hear that they have been disproven. Can you help me sort this out?
Monday, April 4, 2016

When you should be concerned about your drinking
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Alexander technique can help to relieve muscle tension
Friday, April 1, 2016

Remove any hazards to prevent falling at home
Thursday, March 31, 2016

Sleep laboratory testing can reveal sleep apnea
Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Healthy diet and exercise can control type 2 diabetes
DEAR DOCTOR K: I was recently diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. My doctor said the best thing I can do right now is to lose weight. Why?
Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Hot flashes can be treated with medicine and simple steps
Monday, March 28, 2016

Prevent recurrent back pain with exercise and stretching
DEAR DOCTOR K: I get back pain every so often. It can last a week and interferes with my life. Can exercises prevent more attacks in the future? 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

Weather affects arthritis symptoms, but we don't know why
Friday, March 25, 2016

Intensive treatment for diabetes can cause complications
Thursday, March 24, 2016

Generic drugs work as well as their brand-name counterparts
Wednesday, March 23, 2016

3D printers will play increasing role in medicine
DEAR DOCTOR K: It seems like the latest "hot" new electronics technology is 3D printers. Do they have any role in medicine?
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

No evidence supports growth hormone as anti-aging treatment
DEAR DOCTOR K: A friend of mine who is in her 70s is getting growth hormone shots. She says it fights aging. I'm dubious that anything can fight aging and worry about side effects. Am I just old-fashioned?
Monday, March 21, 2016

Childhood tics can be treated and usually go away
Saturday, March 19, 2016

Buildup of fat-soluble vitamins can cause harm
Friday, March 18, 2016

New blood pressure study suggests more aggressive treatment
Thursday, March 17, 2016

Music is effective therapy in improving medical outcomes
Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Husband quitting alcohol should consult doctor first
DEAR DOCTOR K: My husband has a problem with alcohol. He has finally decided to quit and has set a date for his final drink. How will his body react once he stops? Is there anything we can do to help ease his withdrawal symptoms?
Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Healthy lifestyle improves executive function
Monday, March 14, 2016

Natural sleep aids are not very effective for most people
DEAR DOCTOR K: I'm 71 years old and have trouble sleeping. I don't want to take sleep drugs, but I'm interested in supplements and natural treatments. Do they work?
Saturday, March 12, 2016

Counter the stress that causes you to overeat
Friday, March 11, 2016

Online behavioral therapy is still in its infancy
Thursday, March 10, 2016

Antibiotics aren't much help in treating sinus infection
Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Use care when taking ibuprofen for pain after angioplasty
DEAR DOCTOR K: I had angioplasty with a stent recently. I need to take aspirin and Plavix every day. I used to take ibuprofen for pain, but a neighbor said I shouldn't take it if I'm on aspirin and Plavix. Is that right?
Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Take these steps to help your child fall asleep more easily
DEAR DOCTOR K: My 6-year-old son just can't seem to fall asleep at night. He doesn't fuss -- he just doesn't get enough sleep. Is there anything I can do?
Monday, March 7, 2016

One of these tricks should prevent ear pain on planes
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Aging feet need tender loving care
Friday, March 4, 2016

Questions and answers about zika virus
Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Moving to assisted living doesn't have to be traumatic
Tuesday, March 1, 2016

BDD sufferers are preoccupied with physical defects
Monday, February 29, 2016

Yoga and the relaxation response powerfully relieve stress
DEAR DOCTOR K: A friend is urging me to try yoga because I'm stressed out. I am suspicious of all these "touchy-feely" practices. Does yoga have scientifically proven benefits?
Saturday, February 27, 2016

Opioid addiction epidemic has many factors
Friday, February 26, 2016

The challenges of finding a new physician
Thursday, February 25, 2016

Cognitive restructuring can help with stress
Wednesday, February 24, 2016

The role of nicotine in quitting cigarettes
DEAR DOCTOR K: I've decided to quit smoking. Do you think low-nicotine cigarettes could be a good stepping-stone to kicking the habit completely?
Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Picky young eaters usually grow up to like variety
DOCTOR K: My preschooler will eat only white foods. I'm worried he's not getting the proper nutrients to grow and develop. What can I do?
Monday, February 22, 2016

Hearing aids today are better and smaller
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Biology explains why women can't drink as much as men
Friday, February 19, 2016

Greed, lack of competition can increase cost of generics
Thursday, February 18, 2016

Massage is legitimate therapy for back pain
Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Premenstrual disorder symptoms can be relieved
DEAR DOCTOR K: I always assumed my premenstrual mood swings were normal. But then I talked to some friends whose emotional symptoms are much less severe than mine. A quick Internet search turned up "PMDD." Can you tell me more about this?
Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Depression after stroke can be successfully treated
Monday, February 15, 2016

High HDL levels are but one component of a healthy heart
DEAR DOCTOR K: I have high levels of HDL cholesterol -- the "good" cholesterol. I was happy about that, but now I hear that medicines raising your HDL levels don't seem to help. Should I be disappointed?
Saturday, February 13, 2016

Cognitive behavioral therapy helps overcome social phobia
Friday, February 12, 2016

Radiation for breast cancer isn't totally risk-free
Thursday, February 11, 2016

Set a good example for your overweight child
DEAR DOCTOR K: My 12-year-old is overweight. How can I help him achieve a healthy weight without making him feel deprived?
Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Hypnotherapy can be useful as part of pain treatment plan
DEAR DOCTOR K: I am in near-constant pain because of arthritis. My doctor suggested that I try hypnotherapy. My first reaction was that it sounds like hokum, but now I'm wondering if it could help. What do you think?
Tuesday, February 9, 2016

The cause of nightmares remains a mystery
DEAR DOCTOR K: Is there anything I can do to stop having terrible nightmares? They scare me, and ruin my sleep.
Monday, February 8, 2016

Hip resurfacing can be alternative to hip replacement
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Not all DCIS breast cancers require aggressive treatment
Friday, February 5, 2016

Healthy lifestyle changes will combat prediabetes
Thursday, February 4, 2016

Stand up for better health!
Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Pertussis vaccine booster shots protect kids and adults
Tuesday, February 2, 2016









Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |
website@breezecourier.com

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved