Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville




Advanced Search
search sponsored by


LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE






home : columns : ask the doctors April 29, 2017

Apple cider vinegar's benefits still not fully known

Friday, April 28, 2017


Anderson Jewelers

Apple cider vinegar's benefits still not fully known
Thursday, April 27, 2017

Large dose of vitamin b12 can provide quick burst of energy

DEAR DOCTOR: I'm almost 90 years old and always tired. I took two capsules of 2,000 mcg vitamin B12 the other night, and felt stronger and not as tired. Is it safe? 

 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Visit the eye doctor instead of buying drugstore readers
Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Long-term use of antihistamines to treat insomnia is not advised
DEAR DOCTOR: I'm leery of sleep drugs, so I've been taking Benadryl to help me sleep. Now I read that it should be taken only for a limited time. What's the story on this drug? 
Monday, April 24, 2017

Multivitamins can't replace a healthy, balanced diet
DEAR DOCTOR: Do I really need to take a multivitamin? My sisters are convinced that you can't get all the nutrients that you need without one, but it seems to me that as long you're eating right, you're covered. 
Saturday, April 22, 2017

Shingles pain can linger long after rash disappears
DEAR DOCTOR: I'm a 78-year-old woman who developed shingles in December 2014. The rash settled in the nerves on my left side, from under the breast, to the waist and around the middle of my back. Is there anything I can take to ease the pain? Would the vaccine help? 
Friday, April 21, 2017

Source of recurrent headaches frustrates patients and doctors
Thursday, April 20, 2017

Low levels of vitamin d linked to upper respiratory infection
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Healthy foods and exercise keep glucose levels steady
Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Hand-foot-and-mouth disease exposure common in schools
Monday, April 17, 2017

The Doctor: Advance directives imperative to patients, doctors and families
DEAR DOCTOR: I am a 60-year-old man who exercises regularly and takes no medicines. At my last physical exam, my doctor gave me an advance directive form. Do I really need to fill one out? 
Friday, April 14, 2017

Exercise and diet help reduce risk for vascular dementia
Thursday, April 13, 2017

Cured meats are tied to greater risk of asthma
Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Readers' curiosity inspires future columns
Tuesday, April 11, 2017

High-intensity exercise can affect men's libido
Monday, April 10, 2017

Healthy lifestyle reduces risk of prostate cancer
DEAR DOCTOR: Is there anything I can do to reduce my risk of prostate cancer? No one in my family has had cancer, but I just turned 55 and want to do whatever I can to stay healthy. 
Friday, April 7, 2017

Connection between cellphone use and cancer is tenuous
DEAR DOCTOR: I've heard that cellphones increase the risk of brain tumors -- and also that they don't. Which is true? 
Friday, April 7, 2017

Hard contact on the soccer pitch can lead to concussion
Thursday, April 6, 2017

Studies show surprising link between diabetes and pollution
Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Rest, icing and anti-inflammatories will ease bursitis pain
Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Benefits from calorie restriction not yet proven long term

DEAR DOCTOR: Doctor: Some studies suggest that long-term calorie restriction can lengthen lifespan; others say it won't. Which should we believe? 

 

Monday, April 3, 2017

Tips on staying active and refreshed after 60
Saturday, April 1, 2017

Whether with or without meds, blood pressure must be controlled
Friday, March 31, 2017

Manage mind-heart connection with exercise and stress reduction
Thursday, March 30, 2017

Soda consumption tied to obesity and low bone density
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Annual exam important to understanding patients' overall health
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Blockage of eustachian tubes can cause host of problems
Monday, March 27, 2017

Carbon monoxide is easy to detect in home with proper equipment
Saturday, March 25, 2017

Healthy patients do not need to take glutathione
DEAR DOCTOR: I've been seeing advertisements for glutathione, saying the supplement enhances the body's cells. The ads also say the claims haven't been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. What can you tell me about it? 
Friday, March 24, 2017

Pneumonia often diagnosed in late-stage Alzheimer's patients
Thursday, March 23, 2017

Carpal tunnel syndrome usually easily treatable
Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Tinnitus common among people who work in loud settings
Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Bladder pain's origins remain a mystery
Monday, March 20, 2017

How personal fitness technology can help you get moving
Saturday, March 18, 2017

Hair loss could be caused by multitude of issues
Friday, March 17, 2017

Dietary fiber an integral part of a healthy diet
Thursday, March 16, 2017

Improve sleep hygiene before considering taking medications
Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Glycemic index is useful for monitoring blood sugar
Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Niacin has proven effective in lowering cholesterol
Monday, March 13, 2017

Drowsy infant's sleep patterns worry new parents
DEAR DOCTOR: We brought our first baby home from the hospital, and it seems as though all he does is sleep. Is this normal? How much sleep should a newborn be getting?  
Saturday, March 11, 2017

Coconut oil may be a good saturated fat alternative
DEAR DOCTOR: I'm 75, healthy, and want to stay that way -- despite a bad family history regarding hearts and arteries. I have taken 10 milligrams of Lipitor daily for several years, but am wondering if I should try coconut oil to lower my cholesterol? 
Friday, March 10, 2017

Family questions dad's plans for end-of-life care
DEAR DOCTOR: Our dad insists that he doesn't want any heroic or extraordinary measures taken if he gets really sick, and he wants one of us children to relay this message to his medical team. Should he have a living will? 
Thursday, March 9, 2017

Natural remedies available for nagging arthritis pain
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

It's never too late to start an exercise regimen
Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Hepatitis C testing unnecessary for most patients
Monday, March 6, 2017

Depression common among heart attack survivors
Saturday, March 4, 2017

Evidence of olive oil's healing properties is thin
Friday, March 3, 2017

You can prevent nosebleeds in cold, dry climates
Thursday, March 2, 2017

Son's astigmatism can be corrected with contacts
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Fibrates may be better option than statins for some
Monday, February 27, 2017

Brisk walking is an easy, heart-healthy exercise
DEAR DOCTOR: My New Year's resolution was to get more exercise and, I hope, lose a few pounds. Walking is an activity I know I can stick with, but I keep hearing that I should aim for 10,000 steps a day. Where does that number come from, and am I wasting my time if I do less?  
Friday, February 24, 2017

Eat fewer carbs to combat the symptoms of fatty liver disease

DEAR DOCTOR: I was recently diagnosed with fatty liver. I researched it a bit, and learned that people with this condition can have a pregnant-looking stomach. Although I've been considered slim my whole life, for the last eight or nine years I've looked about six months pregnant. Please tell me how I can reverse this and quit wearing maternity clothes. 

 

Friday, February 24, 2017

No known link between vitamin D and cancer or Alzheimer's
Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Quality patient care should be provided by all doctors
Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Patient care is top priority for doctors, no matter their gender
Monday, February 20, 2017

Vitamin B12 deficiency possible with a vegan diet
Saturday, February 18, 2017

Not much scientific evidence to support use of CoQ10 for pain
Friday, February 17, 2017

Balancing exercises key to preventing falls as we age
Thursday, February 16, 2017

You should know the long-term side-effects of taking ppis
Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Challenge your family to spend less time in front of screen
Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Exercise is always important, whether indoors or outdoors
Monday, February 13, 2017

Talk to pediatrician before introducing children to peanuts
DEAR DOCTOR: When it's our turn to bring team snacks to the kids' weekend soccer games, the most challenging part is accommodating so many allergies, especially to peanuts. Is it true that there's now a way to keep children from getting a peanut allergy in the first place? 
Saturday, February 11, 2017

Obstructive sleep apnea common among older men
DEAR DOCTOR: My wife's uncle, who lives with us, is 76 and obese. I have noticed he sleeps an awful lot -- to me, anyway. He sleeps approximately five or six hours a night and then later while sitting on the couch. He frequently takes afternoon naps or will fall asleep while reading and will also fall asleep while watching TV at night. My wife doesn't seem to be concerned. Should we be? 
Friday, February 10, 2017

Abuse of Adderall becoming common among young people
Thursday, February 9, 2017

Talk to your physician about the necessity of yearly physicals
Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Shingles vaccination recommended for patients 60 and older
Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Aspirin shown to improve survival rates in heart attack patients
Monday, February 6, 2017

Maintain a healthy diet to restrict psoriasis flare-ups
Saturday, February 4, 2017

Breast cancer recurrence may be linked to heavier alcohol use
Friday, February 3, 2017

Reports of children with rare, polio-like illness cause concern
Thursday, February 2, 2017

Optimism is instrumental to good health
Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Treating toenail fungus effectively takes time
Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Consuming nuts shows significant health benefits
Monday, January 30, 2017










Dr Paul The Dentist
Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |
website@breezecourier.com

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved