Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville




Advanced Search
search sponsored by


LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE






home : columns April 29, 2016

Reader shocked by parents' marijuana stash

Thursday, April 28, 2016


Anderson Jewelers

One-on-one meetings give reader anxiety
Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Dear Harriette
DEAR HARRIETTE: I don't know if I'm going in the right direction. I hate my job, but it pays the bills. It also allows me to live comfortably. I want a job that I love that allows me to live this way. 
Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Reader dumbs herself down to find dates
Monday, April 25, 2016

Toddler's trip scares mother
DEAR HARRIETTE: I received the scare of my life yesterday when my 3-year-old opened our front door by himself and walked outside. I was moving laundry from the washer to the dryer downstairs, and when I came back up, he was gone.
Saturday, April 23, 2016

Friend's photos cause questions
Friday, April 22, 2016

Husband plans trip without consulting reader
Thursday, April 21, 2016

Fraudulent charges could come from kids
Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Reader retracts from friends to work on self

DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a recent college graduate who has a lot on her plate. I feel completely flummoxed, and I am just trying to get stability. I constantly worry about my rent, job, savings, bills and health. This leaves me no time for my friends. I love my support group, but I have had a very rough year. My friends think I hate them because I haven't spent any time with them. I feel horrible, but I need to focus on myself so I don't sink.  

 

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Reader used to money, not relationships
DEAR HARRIETTE: My dad was never in my life. He just wrote a check here and there, giving it to my mom. There was no real emotional connection. Money was my dad. Money was always there. Money paid for any expenses I needed for my well-being. A week ago, my dad calls me to say that he wants to "see what his return is on his investment." That comment offended me. How dare he think that his money made me? How could he ever be a real father? He didn't raise me; the money did. I'm still trying to decipher if that's a good or bad thing. 
Monday, April 18, 2016

Teacher throws away students' work
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Daughters' thigh gap concerns upset reader
Friday, April 15, 2016

Reader nervous to disclose sexual history
Thursday, April 14, 2016

Reader panicking at the thought of getting married
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Son's dream to join Navy scares reader
Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Reader gets drunk and confides in charter guest
Monday, April 11, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: As spring is here in full force, my wife has decided that this is the year that we get rid of clutter. In the past, the whole family has made a halfhearted promise to throw out what we truly do not need just to appease my wife.
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Sister's puppy leads to hurt feelings
Friday, April 8, 2016

College student's mom worries about hazing
Thursday, April 7, 2016

Couple cannot agree on adoption
Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Reader feels powerless in her marriage
DEAR HARRIETTE: My husband and I have been married for four years now. I've been stressing a lot, and my therapist told me to stop and analyze my life.
Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Mother needs son to learn responsibility
DEAR HARRIETTE: My son is my pride and joy. He's my only child, so that makes it even stronger. Unfortunately, even though it wasn't my intention, I feel as though I've officially spoiled him rotten.
Monday, April 4, 2016

Reader should let son enjoy overnight trip
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Reader uneasy with girlfriend's disclosure
Friday, April 1, 2016

Remove any hazards to prevent falling at home
Thursday, March 31, 2016

Restaurant is not wheelchair accessible
Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Reader wants to impress in-laws with golf cart
DEAR HARRIETTE: My wife's parents have never really liked me. They think I'm too loud, too competitive and too commanding in terms of deciding plans. Honestly, these traits aren't things I dislike about myself in the slightest. I like being the leader of excursions and deciding how events will go.
Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Co-worker's pranks irritate reader
Monday, March 28, 2016

Readers wants to skip family reunion due to family issues
DEAR HARRIETTE: My family dynamic has always been messed up. I don't get along with my brother or my parents, because my parents clearly favor him over me due to the fact that I had a child right out of high school. It does not matter to them that I am a productive member of society who pays her own bills, has her master's degree and does not live at home; they will not stop holding my teenage indiscretion against me. 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

Reader needs mentor to help in career
Friday, March 25, 2016

Reader not sure about sharing painful past
Thursday, March 24, 2016

Mom's boundary issues bug reader
Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Harriette reflects on charitable trip
DEAR READERS: I just got back from an eye-opening humanitarian trip to India. I went on behalf of a philanthropic organization, The PRASAD Project (theprasadproject.org), for which I serve on the board. What I witnessed changed my perspective on life.
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Reader wondering if it's time to settle
DEAR HARRIETTE: Over the past three years, I've dated four guys. Each time, it was fairly casual -- or that's how it seemed to me. However, a few of them were ready to commit to being in a relationship. 
Monday, March 21, 2016

Son questions identity at new school
Saturday, March 19, 2016

Reader crushed by mother's feelings about teaching
Friday, March 18, 2016

Reader finds solution for forgetting names
Thursday, March 17, 2016

Brother's estranged wife wants to attend his funeral
Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Summer camp drives wedge into family
DEAR HARRIETTE: My children are 4 and 6 years old. They are young now, so they go to day camp over the summer. However, I was thinking recently that in a few years, different arrangements for their summers will have to be made. I went to sleepaway camp for years and had the best summers of my life in the hills of Pennsylvania. My husband never went to camp other than brief day camps. He played sports or went on family vacations during his summers growing up. 
Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Reader needs dating advice
Monday, March 14, 2016

Upset by dad's stance on same-sex marriage
DEAR HARRIETTE: My father is in the local government and is interviewed for small newspapers frequently. Recently, when asked about his views regarding same-sex marriage, I was shocked to read that he was against it! 
Friday, March 11, 2016

Racist co-worker surprises reader
Friday, March 11, 2016

Reader wants to tattle on co-workers
Thursday, March 10, 2016

Student wonders if she's grown up too quickly
Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Reader worried about sister's weight gain
DEAR HARRIETTE: My sister and I decided to get healthy together a little over a year ago. We were both at least 30 pounds overweight, and in those 12 months we lost weight and completely changed our lifestyles. As the year was ending, my sister decided to go back to her old lifestyle because it's just "easier." We did agree to be healthy for a year, so she kept her promise, but I want her to continue doing this with me.
Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Reader unwilling to give up hatred for woman
DEAR HARRIETTE: Honestly, I've been holding a grudge against a woman in my town, Cindy, for over a decade. I never forgive, and I think that there's no point in me ever needing to interact with this woman after what she has said about my family and me.
Monday, March 7, 2016

Reader wants to take solo vacation
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Wife's request for therapy angers reader
Friday, March 4, 2016

Pregnant reader finds incriminating texts
Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Reader can't handle friend's mood swings
DEAR HARRIETTE: I have a friend who is extremely bipolar. He admits he has some mental issues and says he is on medication, but I think he needs more. He'll have wild mood swings, and I honestly cannot keep up. 
Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Reader's foul language draws criticism
Monday, February 29, 2016

Reader's work trips cause wife distress
DEAR HARRIETTE: My work causes me to take four business trips throughout the year. Other co-workers have much more frequent, and shorter, trips to New York, Miami and Dallas. I consider myself lucky that I only have to travel quarterly and for a few days at a time. I have been at this job for just over a year now, and every time I have gone away, I Skype with my wife. I am typically away for four to five days, and each time I've gone away, my wife has broken down. 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

Reader's charge curses with abandon
Friday, February 26, 2016

Reader feels bad denying friend's burial request
Thursday, February 25, 2016

Friend cheats on girlfriend with reader
Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Man upset to find out son isn't his
DEAR HARRIETTE: Ten months ago, my girlfriend said that she was pregnant. It would be my first child, so as you can imagine, I was ecstatic and anxious. I loved her. Although this child wasn't planned and came out of the blue, I was going to stay by her side and raise our baby. 
Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Reader worries friend is depressed
DEAR HARRIETTE: My friend of 10 years recently went through a nasty divorce after five years of marriage, and to save money, she ended up moving in with me temporarily. Ever since then, she has been pouring herself into work, working long hours without rest. I check in on her often to make sure she's all right, and while she claims that she is OK, I am starting to see some signs of emotional distress.
Monday, February 22, 2016

Reader offended by potential business partner
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Family doesn't care about care packages
Friday, February 19, 2016

Neighbor's swans attack reader's family
Thursday, February 18, 2016

Friend won't get the hint about son
Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Uncle treats daughter and niece like dummies
DEAR HARRIETTE: My uncle treats my cousin like she is stupid. She and I are the same age, and watching him lecture her on basic information that she knows is too much for me. 
Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Reader has problem identifying people
Monday, February 15, 2016

Friend blabs reader's secret
DEAR HARRIETTE: One of my friends really embarrassed me at a joint lunch I was having. She brought up something I assumed I told her in confidence, only to find out she had told other people. I then had a talk with her, and I feel like it didn't help anything.
Saturday, February 13, 2016

Sister's cancer impacts family
Friday, February 12, 2016

Teenagers are turning into couch potatoes
Thursday, February 11, 2016

Mom hates that son eats pork
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a mother of a 7-year-old who loves pork. I haven't eaten pork or red meat since my mid-20s because I don't believe it's healthy; I was even a vegetarian for a few years. Needless to say, I've been trying to keep my kid away from pork and red meat, too.
Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Reader has binge-eating issues
DEAR HARRIETTE: I feel as though I am developing an unhealthy relationship with food. I have found myself binge-eating throughout the day, when I normally would not do this. I eat two meals a day, lunch around noon and dinner at 6, but I have never had a hunger issue. Now, I find myself searching for cookies or fruit snacks at random hours, and I just can't bring myself to stop.
Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Reader thwarted by internet presence
DEAR HARRIETTE: Recently, I applied to a company I always wanted to work for, but I didn't receive a callback. I recently ran into a recruiter, who I loosely knew through a close friend, when I was visiting the co-working space where her company is based.
Monday, February 8, 2016

Girlfriend vents about relationship on Instagram
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Daughter's dream school could bankrupt family
Friday, February 5, 2016

Reader wants to be as well-liked as sister
Thursday, February 4, 2016

Husband's too predictable for reader
Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Reader worried niece may rebel against father and church
Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Reader unsure how to interpret racy texts
Monday, February 1, 2016

Reader in love with sister's boyfriend
DEAR HARRIETTE: Relationships never seemed to work for me. I don't really know why, but at some point or another, the guy and I would drift. After that, it'd be over. I'm tired of this pattern. I want a guy who stays and loves me unconditionally.
Saturday, January 30, 2016

CRP blood test is not useful for everyone
DEAR DOCTOR K: Both my parents had heart disease, so I'm worried I might get it. A friend said I should get a CRP test, but my doctor hasn't ordered one. Should I ask him about the test?
Saturday, January 30, 2016










Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |
website@breezecourier.com

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved