Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville




Advanced Search
search sponsored by


LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE






home : columns August 26, 2016

Reader stuck between friend and employee

Friday, August 26, 2016


Anderson Jewelers

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: I lost my place of residence two months ago, but I was able to stay with my family and friends until I came up with a way to sustain myself during this turbulent time of my life.
Thursday, August 25, 2016

Daughter lashing out after friend's death
Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: Overweight and self-conscious, I decided to make a lifestyle change. I threw out all of my junk food at 2 a.m. and decided I'm through with excuses -- I am going to bring my body back to health.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: I got invited to attend a book club by one of my friends. She thought it would be a great way for our friends and the women in the neighborhood to meet one another. I was all for it, and I never turn down a chance to read and discuss books. However, when I got there, I was immediately offered booze and gossip. 
Monday, August 22, 2016

Daughter needs extra time in the restroom
Saturday, August 20, 2016

Pastor wants to spend church money wisely
Friday, August 19, 2016

Reader needs advice for taking grad school exams
Thursday, August 18, 2016

Husband's narcissism ruins marriage
Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Ex won't stop texting reader
Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Cat sitter discovers allergy to cats
Monday, August 15, 2016

Making friends as an adult is difficult
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a stay-at-home mom who just moved to a new town. In an effort to meet friends, I joined the PTA and went to a mid-summer meeting of the mothers. I was greeted by a friendly woman who took me under her wing. We went out to lunch the next day, and she was incredibly charming. Today, I got a text from one of the other mothers that said that "Christy" has hurt all of them and has no friends. That's why she was so immediately drawn to me. I was told to watch out.
Saturday, August 13, 2016

Parents need to set better example for kids
Friday, August 12, 2016

Employers treat cleaner like a second-class citizen
Thursday, August 11, 2016

Twins may be too inquisitive with strangers
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Reader considers not attending friend's event
Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Father needs to spend more time with children
Monday, August 8, 2016

Reader lacking support for career goals
Saturday, August 6, 2016

Reader needs advice for son facing police
Friday, August 5, 2016

Reader doesn't want to take kids to visit brother in jail
Thursday, August 4, 2016

Reader watches over ex-fiancee's house
Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Recent graduate nervous about relocation
Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Teacher wants to follow passion for dance
Monday, August 1, 2016

Husband's phone calls worry reader
DEAR HARRIETTE: In the past few months, I've realized that my husband always has an excuse to be on the phone. He claims it's one of his relatives or the office calling, but I feel like this is too frequent to be work and family. I trust my husband to a degree, and I just want to get to the bottom of this. Is work really so stressful? Has he been trying to get a promotion? Could there be another woman? 
Saturday, July 30, 2016

Exercise is good for your brain as well as your heart
Friday, July 29, 2016

Friend's makeup scares off potential employers
Thursday, July 28, 2016

Reader wants son's camp to post more pictures
Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Reader wants to maintain clutter-free home
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am currently downsizing my life after realizing I have too many things in my possession. I recently donated 10 bags of clothes, and I threw away at least 10 bags full of garbage -- and I live in just a one-bedroom apartment! 
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Writing about death drains publication staff
Monday, July 25, 2016

Reader flipping out over son's safety
Saturday, July 23, 2016

Dad insists on talking business after work
Friday, July 22, 2016

Reader wants to connect with single brother
Thursday, July 21, 2016

Reader wants better connection with grandmother
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Reader resents being expected to cook
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Catcalling employees must be stopped
Monday, July 18, 2016

Teen reader wants to make more money
Saturday, July 16, 2016

Teen reader wants to make more money
Friday, July 15, 2016

Stepsister should find her own source of employment
Thursday, July 14, 2016

Reader having trouble including new boyfriend
Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Reader wants to talk issues, not fads
Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Reader eager to connect with new co-workers
Monday, July 11, 2016

Dog acts up while reader is on vacation
Saturday, July 9, 2016

Reader refuses to stay in house with guns
Friday, July 8, 2016

Son's obsession with money worries reader
Thursday, July 7, 2016

Nontraditional wedding causes confusion
Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Friends do not value reader's books
Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Harriette shares Independence Day thoughts
Monday, July 4, 2016

Reader needs help with firing receptionist
DEAR HARRIETTE: I work at a small stone company. Recently, I've been noticing my receptionist has been slacking. She forgets appointments, doesn't answer every phone call and doesn't forward emails or calls. I know it is time to fire her, but I've never had to do this. I've held my position for only a year, and I don't know what to do. I read online that you can either tell the employee a white lie to make it easier or just be completely honest while firing someone. Should I let her down easy or tell her the truth? I don't want her to resent me forever. -- You're Fired, Memphis, Tennessee
Saturday, July 2, 2016

Reader wants to go on spontaneous dates with boyfriend
DEAR HARRIETTE: Going on dates with my boyfriend has turned into a chore. We always do the same dinner or same movie theater. I have suggested doing an active date, and he always wonders why we can't just get dinner instead. He doesn't want to go on dates that are out of his comfort zone. This can't be about money, because I could pay for rock climbing or kayaking. We could even make food and have a picnic in the park! 
Friday, July 1, 2016

Reader debates taking care of sister's kids
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Mother-in-law has a problem with reader
Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Reader uninterested in getting back with ex-boyfriend
Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Boyfriend closed off after open relationship suggestion
Monday, June 27, 2016

Reader needs to motivate drifting nephew
Saturday, June 25, 2016

Reader disappointed in friend participating in affair
Friday, June 24, 2016

Reader nervous for phone interview
Thursday, June 23, 2016

Reader's past doesn't mean he needs therapy
Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Image of dying woman sticks with reader
Tuesday, June 21, 2016

High school student must defend dream career
Monday, June 20, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: I feel like sometimes my weight gets in the way of my dreams. I know that sounds really insecure, but I honestly believe that's why I haven't progressed much. I want to do so much, but I feel like people see my weight before they see my talent. I'm tired of it. I'm tired of being told, "You're (blank) for a big girl." Just because I may weigh more, that doesn't mean I can't do anything like anyone else. Everyone always sees my weight first.
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Reader hesitates to watch friends get wasted
Friday, June 17, 2016

Career-minded reader has less time for family
Thursday, June 16, 2016

Reluctant roustabout receives repeat request
Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Neighbors' child plays in the danger zone
Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Commuter wonders whether to awaken sleepers
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a commuter and take the train. On a few occasions, I've had a sleepless night and end up falling asleep on the train. The few times I've done this I wake up in the station and am almost late for work. I'm thankful I've never had anything stolen from me.
Monday, June 13, 2016

Reader cuts ties with unsupportive friends
Saturday, June 11, 2016

Sister offers unsolicited fashion advice
Friday, June 10, 2016

Reader considers money-making opportunity
Thursday, June 9, 2016

European reader questions tradition of wakes
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Friend recently out of treatment wouldn't see reader
Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Reader uninterested in attending prom
Monday, June 6, 2016

Bankrupt cousin won't stop partying
DEAR HARRIETTE: My cousin just got out of Chapter 11 bankruptcy. The legal process and his financial situation spun out of control, so he just got back on his feet. Everyone thought this crisis would cause him to pull it together and mature quickly. Much to everyone's surprise, he's acting like a teenager, and the entire family doesn't know what to do. He is going out to nightclubs, buying bottles and getting so buzzed he can barely stand. Nobody expected this behavior from him. 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

Reader wants to confront fling's girlfriend
Friday, June 3, 2016

Reader feels guilty for not being sad about grandmother
Thursday, June 2, 2016

Widowed reader wants to find connection
Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Reader needs to drink before social events
DEAR HARRIETTE: I feel the need to get buzzed before any sort of social interaction. I do not consider myself an alcoholic, but I know I interact with less trepidation after a few drinks. After suggesting we drink a bit before a small gathering, my best friend looked at me like I was crazy! I explained how I feel, and I know most people feel better after a little bit of alcohol is in them. I didn't mean to imply that the company we were going to be with drives to me drink, I simply wanted to be the most outgoing me I can be. 
Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Reader feels stuck in marriage with controlling husband
DEAR HARRIETTE: I have been married for almost 10 years. In this time, I have had one son with my husband. I am my husband's seventh wife; some he married to give them green cards, others were for love. Either way, all of these women divorced him at some point. He has one other son who is 25 years older than our son. 
Monday, May 30, 2016










Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |
website@breezecourier.com

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved