Breeze-Courier | Taylorville, IL
weather sponsored by
Hickory Estates of Taylorville




Advanced Search
search sponsored by


LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE






home : columns June 25, 2016

Reader disappointed in friend participating in affair

Friday, June 24, 2016


Anderson Jewelers

Reader nervous for phone interview
Thursday, June 23, 2016

Reader's past doesn't mean he needs therapy
Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Image of dying woman sticks with reader
Tuesday, June 21, 2016

High school student must defend dream career
Monday, June 20, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: I feel like sometimes my weight gets in the way of my dreams. I know that sounds really insecure, but I honestly believe that's why I haven't progressed much. I want to do so much, but I feel like people see my weight before they see my talent. I'm tired of it. I'm tired of being told, "You're (blank) for a big girl." Just because I may weigh more, that doesn't mean I can't do anything like anyone else. Everyone always sees my weight first.
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Reader hesitates to watch friends get wasted
Friday, June 17, 2016

Career-minded reader has less time for family
Thursday, June 16, 2016

Reluctant roustabout receives repeat request
Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Neighbors' child plays in the danger zone
Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Commuter wonders whether to awaken sleepers
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a commuter and take the train. On a few occasions, I've had a sleepless night and end up falling asleep on the train. The few times I've done this I wake up in the station and am almost late for work. I'm thankful I've never had anything stolen from me.
Monday, June 13, 2016

Reader cuts ties with unsupportive friends
Saturday, June 11, 2016

Sister offers unsolicited fashion advice
Friday, June 10, 2016

Reader considers money-making opportunity
Thursday, June 9, 2016

European reader questions tradition of wakes
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Friend recently out of treatment wouldn't see reader
Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Reader uninterested in attending prom
Monday, June 6, 2016

Bankrupt cousin won't stop partying
DEAR HARRIETTE: My cousin just got out of Chapter 11 bankruptcy. The legal process and his financial situation spun out of control, so he just got back on his feet. Everyone thought this crisis would cause him to pull it together and mature quickly. Much to everyone's surprise, he's acting like a teenager, and the entire family doesn't know what to do. He is going out to nightclubs, buying bottles and getting so buzzed he can barely stand. Nobody expected this behavior from him. 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

Reader wants to confront fling's girlfriend
Friday, June 3, 2016

Reader feels guilty for not being sad about grandmother
Thursday, June 2, 2016

Widowed reader wants to find connection
Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Reader needs to drink before social events
DEAR HARRIETTE: I feel the need to get buzzed before any sort of social interaction. I do not consider myself an alcoholic, but I know I interact with less trepidation after a few drinks. After suggesting we drink a bit before a small gathering, my best friend looked at me like I was crazy! I explained how I feel, and I know most people feel better after a little bit of alcohol is in them. I didn't mean to imply that the company we were going to be with drives to me drink, I simply wanted to be the most outgoing me I can be. 
Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Reader feels stuck in marriage with controlling husband
DEAR HARRIETTE: I have been married for almost 10 years. In this time, I have had one son with my husband. I am my husband's seventh wife; some he married to give them green cards, others were for love. Either way, all of these women divorced him at some point. He has one other son who is 25 years older than our son. 
Monday, May 30, 2016

Reader questions company name ramifications
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Reader faces insensitivity from boyfriend's parents
Friday, May 27, 2016

Reader unsure about going into business with friend
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Older aunt is overwhelmed by dog
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Friends don't approve of reader's boyfriend
DEAR HARRIETTE: None of my friends likes my boyfriend, but I am head over heels for him. They just don't understand that he's different when we're alone as opposed to when people are observing our relationship.
Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Reader needs to renegotiate contract with friend
Monday, May 23, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: This summer I hooked up with my good friend who had recently broken up with her boyfriend. She was vulnerable and upset, and I was too nervous to reject her. I am gay, but I haven't told anyone yet, so it's weird. 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

Reader annoyed when friend shares too much
DEAR HARRIETTE: One of my friends is a very open woman. She likes to talk about every aspect of her life and doesn't think to notice who else is listening. At a cocktail party recently, she was talking about how she uses Nair on her husband's back because they agreed he is too hairy. She then went on to say how great their bedroom life is. My other friend and I were shocked. Usually, we can just laugh about how "Carol" overshares, but I thought this was way too personal. I do not want to hear it. 
Thursday, May 19, 2016

Reader concerned for newly out friend
DEAR HARRIETTE: One of my closest friends recently came out of the closet at 25. I was so happy for him as he began exploring the gay scene in our city, but my joy has slowly turned into concern. He has entered a promiscuous phase, and I am concerned, not just because of sexually transmitted infections, but also because our local scene, especially as people of color, is not so big. 
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Reader is lukewarm about temperature debate
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a hostess at a restaurant. I am 25. I work very close to a 50-and-over community that does not allow children. Many of the women complain to me about the temperature in the restaurant. Occasionally, they will admit that they are going through menopause, and other times they will skirt around the topic. I receive many complaints about the heat of the restaurant.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Friend's racist tirade upsets reader
DEAR HARRIETTE: I had a white best friend growing up in our small town. We were close throughout high school, but we lost contact during college. After 15 years apart, we recently reconnected through Facebook. It was like old times again. That is, until about a month ago. He recently posted a meme that pointed out the differences in how police handle black suspects versus white suspects, accompanied by a horribly racist tirade. 
Monday, May 16, 2016

Reader wants friend to keep divorce advice to herself
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Widower wants son to meet his girlfriend
Friday, May 13, 2016

Reader baffled by friend's sudden reversal
Thursday, May 12, 2016

Dad thinks daughter's car smells like trouble
Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Reader feels he has lost touch with grandson
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a grandfather to two lovely children. My grandson is 14 years old now. As recently as two years ago, we would go to the zoo or the carnival together. Now, it seems as though my grandson is too "cool" for me. I keep attempting to reach out to him, but now I just hear crickets. I don't want to stop his youthful fun. I just want to be involved in his life.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Mom worries about toddler's development
Monday, May 9, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: I am finding myself going crazy. I accepted a new management role within my company about four months ago, and while I should be happy, I cannot be any more stressed. I'm rushing, so I'm not eating well. I haven't been sleeping right, and gym time has been nonexistent. I'm meeting my deadlines and executing my work well, but I know this is not going to be a sustainable strategy.  How can I get some order back in my life so I can regain my sanity and my health? -- Not Trying to Die at 40, Philadelphia
Saturday, May 7, 2016

Reader needs to defend daughter from judgment
Friday, May 6, 2016

Reader upset that mom is acting like a teenager
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Reader worried about friends' pill use
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: My husband is eight years younger than me. We've been married for 10 years now, and our age difference has never been an issue. 
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: My husband and I have been together for six years. I love him with all my heart and would do almost anything for him. I say "almost" because his recent request isn't an easy one. Normally, if he asks me to do something, I'm there; I'll do it without hesitation. It's always been that way in our relationship because we love and trust each other. I overlooked our age difference -- he's 38, and I'm 24 -- because I never thought that it would come between us. 
Monday, May 2, 2016

Body makeup rubs reader the wrong way
Saturday, April 30, 2016

Former bookworm son trying to gain popularity
Friday, April 29, 2016

Reader shocked by parents' marijuana stash
Thursday, April 28, 2016

One-on-one meetings give reader anxiety
Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Dear Harriette
DEAR HARRIETTE: I don't know if I'm going in the right direction. I hate my job, but it pays the bills. It also allows me to live comfortably. I want a job that I love that allows me to live this way. 
Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Reader dumbs herself down to find dates
Monday, April 25, 2016

Toddler's trip scares mother
DEAR HARRIETTE: I received the scare of my life yesterday when my 3-year-old opened our front door by himself and walked outside. I was moving laundry from the washer to the dryer downstairs, and when I came back up, he was gone.
Saturday, April 23, 2016

Friend's photos cause questions
Friday, April 22, 2016

Husband plans trip without consulting reader
Thursday, April 21, 2016

Fraudulent charges could come from kids
Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Reader retracts from friends to work on self

DEAR HARRIETTE: I am a recent college graduate who has a lot on her plate. I feel completely flummoxed, and I am just trying to get stability. I constantly worry about my rent, job, savings, bills and health. This leaves me no time for my friends. I love my support group, but I have had a very rough year. My friends think I hate them because I haven't spent any time with them. I feel horrible, but I need to focus on myself so I don't sink.  

 

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Reader used to money, not relationships
DEAR HARRIETTE: My dad was never in my life. He just wrote a check here and there, giving it to my mom. There was no real emotional connection. Money was my dad. Money was always there. Money paid for any expenses I needed for my well-being. A week ago, my dad calls me to say that he wants to "see what his return is on his investment." That comment offended me. How dare he think that his money made me? How could he ever be a real father? He didn't raise me; the money did. I'm still trying to decipher if that's a good or bad thing. 
Monday, April 18, 2016

Teacher throws away students' work
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Daughters' thigh gap concerns upset reader
Friday, April 15, 2016

Reader nervous to disclose sexual history
Thursday, April 14, 2016

Reader panicking at the thought of getting married
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Son's dream to join Navy scares reader
Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Reader gets drunk and confides in charter guest
Monday, April 11, 2016

Dear Harriette by Harriette Cole
DEAR HARRIETTE: As spring is here in full force, my wife has decided that this is the year that we get rid of clutter. In the past, the whole family has made a halfhearted promise to throw out what we truly do not need just to appease my wife.
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Sister's puppy leads to hurt feelings
Friday, April 8, 2016

College student's mom worries about hazing
Thursday, April 7, 2016

Couple cannot agree on adoption
Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Reader feels powerless in her marriage
DEAR HARRIETTE: My husband and I have been married for four years now. I've been stressing a lot, and my therapist told me to stop and analyze my life.
Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Mother needs son to learn responsibility
DEAR HARRIETTE: My son is my pride and joy. He's my only child, so that makes it even stronger. Unfortunately, even though it wasn't my intention, I feel as though I've officially spoiled him rotten.
Monday, April 4, 2016

Reader should let son enjoy overnight trip
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Reader uneasy with girlfriend's disclosure
Friday, April 1, 2016

Remove any hazards to prevent falling at home
Thursday, March 31, 2016

Restaurant is not wheelchair accessible
Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Reader wants to impress in-laws with golf cart
DEAR HARRIETTE: My wife's parents have never really liked me. They think I'm too loud, too competitive and too commanding in terms of deciding plans. Honestly, these traits aren't things I dislike about myself in the slightest. I like being the leader of excursions and deciding how events will go.
Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Co-worker's pranks irritate reader
Monday, March 28, 2016














Trinity Dodge Fixed

NewsWebPagesOpinionPeopleObituariesAg & BusinessSportsContact Us
Subscriptions | Username & Password Reminder | Change Password | Life

Breeze-Courier & Printing | 212 S Main St. Taylorville, IL 62568 | (217) 824-2233 |
website@breezecourier.com

© Copyright 2014 Breeze-Courier & Printing. All Rights Reserved.
Original content may not be reprinted or distributed without the written permission of Breeze-Courier & Printing.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved